Skip to content Skip to navigation

Turkey's First Specialized Industrial Techno-city Established in İzmir 25 October 2017

Turkey's first specialized industrial technology development zone was established in İzmir as the Research and Development efforts in the country have recently been accelerated.

Dokuz Eylül Technology Development Zone Specialized in Health became the first specialized techno-city to be announced after the publication of the R&D Reform Package.

The "Dokuz Eylül Technology Development Zone" (TGB)-2 area was changed to "Dokuz Eylül Technology Development Zone Specialized in Health”. Therefore, the 10.487 meter square area was declared a "Specialized Technology Development Zone".

According to the Ministry of Science, Industry and Technology, among the managing company partners of the Technology Development Zone are Dokuz Eylül University, İzmir Katip Çelebi University, İzmir High Technology Institute, İzmir University of Economics, Arkas Holding, ArtıMobil Telecommuncation, Siskon Industrial Automation Systems, Kemalpaşa Organized Industrial Zone, Kırkpınar Tourism and Mertsel Pharmacy Warehouse. 

The zone embodies: medicine, nursing, health sciences faculties, Health Sciences Institute, School of Physical Therapy and Rehabilitation, School of Sport Sciences and Technologies, School of Health Services and Institute of Oncology.


R&D efforts of industrial institutions are also supported through techno-cities established in Organized Industrial Zones.

The number of technology development zones in Turkey has increased to 69 with the announcement of the Gaziantep OIZ Technology Development Zone on the Official Gazette.

R&D activities are conducted in 55 of these centers while structuring efforts for 14 of them continue.

The total area of Gaziantep OIZ Technology Development Zone consists of 5.000 square meters.

Hasan Kalyoncu University and Gaziantep Organized Industrial Zone are in the founding committee.

250 R&D personnel are expected to be employed after the completion of the Technopark construction.

A total of 70 companies, 14 new, 38 small and medium-sized, 12 large-scale, 6 international are expected to be found in the technopark to be established.


The Technology Development Zones, known as "technocity" and "technopark", are established with the leadership of the Ministry of Science, Industry and Technology. They are defined as academic, social and cultural sites that entrepreneurs, academicians and researchers can conduct their activities near universities.

Technology Development Zones aim to produce technological information, develop innovative products and production methods and increase product quality and standards in order to make the country's industry and internationally competitive and export-oriented one by strenghtening cooperation among universities, research institutions and production sectors.

These zones also aim to increase efficiency, decrease production cost, commercialize technological information, support technology-intensive investments, create job opportunitites and contribute to technology transfer.